Province of Madurai

The awakening had begun and we have evolved into what we are today -as Sisters of the Cross - Province of Madurai. We look out on our lives and realize that more has occurred than we thought to live the Vision, Charism and mission in the southern part of Tamil Nadu of the Indian Continent

Today, we are happy to reconnect to our past glorious history which has a multi-faceted episodes. We gratefully remember our visionary Sisters, pioneers along with their aspirations and challenges that recaptured the Spirit of Christ and Mother Claudine.

Red letter day (1980 - 1986)

The Province of Madurai came into being on 1st June 1980, having been carved out from the Province of Tiruchirappalli for a better and more fruitful mission in the service of God and humanity.

Sr. Berchmans Martin was announced as the first Provincial of Madurai Province. The Province had 163 Sisters, 17 communities in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala, 20 novices and 9 pre-novices. Followed by Sr. Scholastica (1986 - 1991), Sr. Lucian (1991 - 1996), Sr. Pushpam Irudhayam was elected as Superior General (1995 - 2007), Sr. Elsy George (1996 - 2002), Sr. Felicia Jothi (2002 - 2008), Sr. Pushpam Irudhayam (2008 - 2011) and Sr. Hilda Mathias (2011 -

We serve ...

Thoothukudi, Madurai, Sivagangai, Kottar, Palayamkottai, Coimbatore and Dindigul Dioceses.

  1. Maduarai-Provincialate
  2. Paravai-Noviciate
  3. Paravai-Claudine Illam
  4. Bathlagundu
  5. Karisalpatti
  6. Kodaikannal
  7. Singanalur
  8. Kaladithidal
  9. Manamadurai
  10. Thangachimadam
  11. Velayuthapuram
  12. Mariathaipuram
  13. Thoothukudi - 2
  14. Thoothukudi - 3
  15. Nagercoil
  16. Nagercoil - CHF
  17. Ritapuram

Congregation Heritage About Us History Ministries Family Delegation Invite Contact Gallery
© 2014 Sisters of the Cross of Chavanod | All rights reserved.
Designed by Rathnasoftnet